Sonderbooks Book Reviews by Sondra Eklund

Sonderbooks Stand-out 2004
Buy from

Rate this Book

Sonderbooks 71
    Previous Book
    Next Book

Young Adult Fiction
Children's Nonfiction
Children's Fiction
        Previous Book
        Next Book

Picture Books

2005 Stand-outs
2004 Stand-outs
    Previous Book
    Next Book

2003 Stand-outs
2002 Stand-outs
2001 Stand-outs

Five-Star Books
    Previous Book
    Next Book

Four-Star Books
Old Favorites
    Previous Book
    Next Book

Back Issues
List of Reviews by Title
List of Reviews by Author

Why Read?
Children and Books
Links For Book Lovers
Book Discussion Forum

About Me
Contact Me
Make a Donation

I don't review books I don't like!

*****= An all-time favorite
****  = Outstanding
***    = Above average
**      = Enjoyable
*        = Good, with reservations


*****The Silver Chair

Book 4 of The Chronicles of Narnia

by C. S. Lewis

Reviewed February 3, 2004.
Scholastic, New York, 1995.  First published in 1953. 243 pages.
Available at Sembach Library (JF LEW).
Sonderbooks Stand-out 2004,
#7, Young Adult and Children's Fantasy Old Favorites

The Silver Chair is Book 4 in The Chronicles of Narnia in the order they were originally written, and Book 6 in the order of the chronology of Narnia.  (Some day, I’ll read them in that order, but for now I simply had to read them to my son in the same order which I read them.)

The Chronicles of Narnia are books that will last you your lifetime.  I read and loved them first in elementary school over and over again.  In junior high I read them one “last” time, thinking sadly that I had outgrown them.  Then in college I discovered them all over again, finding whole new layers of spiritual wisdom.  Finally, as a parent I now get to read them to my children.  They’ve stayed as wonderful as ever.

In The Silver Chair, Eustace gets to return to Narnia.  He brings along a schoolmate, Jill Pole.  In Narnia, they get a mission from Aslan to seek the lost prince, the son of King Caspian, whom Eustace sailed with in The Voyage of the Dawn Treader.

They have four signs to guide them on their journey and the help of a gloomy Marsh-wiggle.  Their path leads through the land of giants and then under the surface of the earth.  Here’s more magic and adventure and wisdom from C. S. Lewis.

Reviews of other books by C. S. Lewis:
Book 1 of The Chronicles of Narnia:  The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe
Book 2 of The Chronicles of Narnia:  Prince Caspian
Book 3 of The Chronicles of Narnia:  The Voyage of the Dawn Treader
Book 5 of The Chronicles of Narnia:  The Horse and His Boy
Book 6 of The Chronicles of Narnia:  The Magician's Nephew
Book 7 of The Chronicles of Narnia:  The Last Battle
The Last Battle performed by Patrick Stewart

Out of the Silent Planet
That Hideous Strength
Of Other Worlds
Till We Have Faces
The Great Divorce
A Year With C. S. Lewis

Copyright © 2005 Sondra Eklund.  All rights reserved.

-top of page-